Try something new

I’ve always felt that the best way to get yourself out of a rut is to try something new. It expands your mind, lightens your spirit, rounds out your personality, and it’s plain ol’ fun!

I decided to take a dive into watercolors. Haha…dive.

These are all available to purchase at ArtofJohnFrench.com

storm-on-the-big-lake

I haven’t worked in watercolor with any amount of seriousness in years. The painting above is my first one in awhile. This piece served as a “getting to know you” exercise. I like how it turned out!

I used masking fluid to protect the white snow and ice as I spattered and streaked and allowed things to run wild on the paper.

misty-evening-at-whetstone-brook

I took some lessons from my first one and applied them here to this one. I kept it simple. I masked some areas, and let the paint and water sort of randomly do their thing. Then I took off the masking and tightened things up.

home-on-mackinac-island

This is a house on Mackinac Island. Once again, I used the masking fluid to help define and protect the highlights from the color. This one was much less random than the previous two.

babblings-of-summer
I love the colors and bleeding in this one, as well as the glimmer on the stream.

pennsylvania-monument-gettysburg

Here’s a beautiful scene from Gettysburg, PA.

road-to-cedar-beach

This is a dirt road to a secluded beach near my home.

I’ve had fun playing with this medium. I hope you have fun looking at them!

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

