Cursed Rocks

This is a neat read, and an important reminder to preserve our parks. I guess I’ve been guilty of taking rocks from some of the places I’ve visited, though I didn’t take any from Gettysburg, or any other National Park.

The Blog of Gettysburg National Military Park

stonesThe packages seem totally innocuous. Not very large. Slightly heavier than you might expect for their size. Addressed to Gettysburg National Military Park, but not to a specific department or person.  Often without a return address. Not terribly unusual at all.

Except for the curse.

The boxes in question hold rocks. Rocks that were previously removed from the park, and are now being returned. In almost every case, they also contain a letter, such as the one below,  received  in May of this year:Letter #1

Or this one, from June 2015:

Letter #2

It is important to remember that removing rocks from the park is a violation of Chapter 36 of the Code of Federal Regulations. Section 2.1(a)(1)(iv) prohibits  “Possessing, destroying, injuring, defacing, removing, digging or disturbing from its natural state a mineral resource or cave formation or the parts thereof.”  If these individuals had been caught in the act, they would have…

View original post 341 more words

2 Comments

  1. Yikes! Oh, talked to the sunflower festival Coke yesterday. That deadline was extended for the life in the southwest show so I still have time if I want to enter the juried show and they still have outdoor spaces for vending. Inside spaces are all taken. Thank you for your nudge. I don’t know if I will apply for the juried show, I’m very nervous about that, but I’m less nervous about having a tent outside for my sunflowers.

Leave a Reply

