Charming video maps many dialects of American English | Fox News

I found this video (linked below) funny. It made me think of when the Boy and I were in Southern Illinois. He was thirsty, so he asked for some pop. His newly acquainted cousins teased him because the proper word was “soda”. We laughed.

http://www.foxnews.com/travel/2013/11/27/charming-video-maps-many-dialects-american-english/?intcmp=features

Being from the south west, but living in the northern Midwest, I can be amused by the different words from place to place. I grew up with rollie-polies, but not pill bugs. When I invite two or more people to dinner, I say  ” y’all”, but my friends will say “you guys”, “yous”, or even “yous guys”!

Just another reason to love traveling.

Leave a Reply

