One year ago today….

At this time last year, August 4th, the Boy and I went on our trip to New Mexico.

This was a transformative for me spiritually and artistically. The trip inspired me to approach my landscape paintings with a more rugged, full and lush technique. I’ve also decided to concentrate more fully on my career as an artist. I’m committed to painting for a living, while staying true to my day job as a CNC Machinist.

The trip strengthened the bond between my son and me. We love to talk about the sights and good times we had. We’re both anticipating the next chance we can get to go to the wonderful South West United States!

As I reflect on the trip, I also reflect on the art. So much of it has sold, enough so that I need and want to make more.

I displayed in Marquette, MI’s prestigious Art on the Rocks Art Fair last weekend. I did pretty well! This coming weekend, August 10 and 11, I’ll show at The Eagle Harbor (MI)Art Fair. Next year I want to do more, out of town shows.

One annoying side effect of this trip is this incessant infection of the travelling bug. I can hardly sit still! Yesterday, my poor neighbor cut my grass while I was on a road trip. My bathroom is somewhere in between torn-apart and redone. My house needs paint. That’s ironic!

I wanted to share with you some of the work that was inspired by this trip. You can click on the images to go to the original post. Or just enjoy them here!

Crossing the Mississippi River from LaCrosse, Wi to Dakota, MN. Gorgeous area!
Crossing the Mississippi River from LaCrosse, WI to Dakota, MN. Gorgeous area!
8″ X 10″ $140.00
mt Rushmore
Probably the most recognizable landmark in America, after the Statue of Liberty! The Boy had waited a long time to see this!
11″wX14″h $180.00
After a few days with family, we hit the road and took a day long tour of South-Central New Mexico, including Lincoln   County and White Sands. 8"w X 10"h  $145.00
After a few days with family, we hit the road and took a day long tour of South-Central New Mexico, including Lincoln County and White Sands.
8″w X 10″h $145.00
Santa Fe Courtyard
We spent a few days with my Aunt and Uncle in Albuquerque. They took us to all kinds of places, including Santa Fe, where I was born.
This one has sold!
Another cool place my Aunt took us to was Acoma Sky City. Wow! This piece is unavailable.
Another cool place my Aunt took us to was Acoma Sky City. Wow!
This piece is unavailable.
storm in illinois
After we left New Mexico, we visited my Sister in Missouri, and then my other Aunt and Uncle in Southern Illinois. We were there to see the sun-parched land welcome a heavy, though late, rain.
This piece sold before it was dry!
Of course, there's plenty to do and paint in Michigan! Chapel Rock, 16"w X 20"h  $415.00
Of course, there’s plenty to do and paint in Michigan!
Chapel Rock, 16″w X 20″h
$415.00
Leave a Reply

