Art on the Rocks, Day Two

I woke up this morning, before my alarm of course, and heard the dreaded “drip-drip-drip” outside. I got up, made my coffee, and checked the radar. Yep, radar showed rain, at home and in Marquette. And not a nice line of rain clouds that would pass through, but a big blob of wet, swirling relentlessly off of Lake Superior.

image
Umbrellas and tents

Undaunted, I put on my nice clothes, made sure I really had everything, and headed to the park. There I found my super nice show-neighbor packing his things. He made limited edition photography prints on museum quality rag board. He sold some of the larger ones for around $1250.00! He would not risk getting them wet. It would ruin a lot of work.

I stayed, cold and wet. ‘Crowds’ of about five people at a time trickled (no pun intended) through. I sold a few books and three more paintings by the end of the day, and made a few new friends!

All in all it was a successful enough show that I’ll probably do it again next year.

image
This was my view across the harbor. The fellow who was at this spot left, leaving me this nice view!
Leave a Reply

