Less Talk, More Paint! …About other Off-the-Couch people

Well, if I’m not talking about art, or writing about art, or blogging about art, it usually means I’m busy making art.

This has been the case for the last two weeks. I’ve working on a commission for a friend of mine. Her husband turns 50 soon. I can’t say anything more about that right now, but let’s say these people are Off-the-Couch kind of folks!

As I was starting the commission,  I was contacted by a local framing business. They were organizing an art auction to benefit the local animal shelter. I have five cats and four dogs. I love animals, so I wanted to help. The deal was that I (and others) would buy 5″ by 7″ canvases from their store for $1.00, paint  on them, and donate them back for the auction. So I bought two canvases. Below are my entries. The sailboat ended up on the news, even!

lower harbour pair UPaw entries
Both of these are from the same spot, Lower Harbor Park in Marquette, MI. The top piece is looking west at the city of Marquette. The lower one is looking south east over lake Superior. Click it for a map!

As I was working on these three projects, I got a text from my neighbor.  Her cousin Jodi had just passed away from cancer at the young age of 38. My neighbor wanted something special to give to the family. This neighbor and her family are some of the neatest people I know. They have started and sold a few businesses, are avid mountain bikers, and they never seem to be home. They’re always out doing something. They’re also my best clients! They’ve bought more art from me than any other single household, but they didn’t own any of it because they always gave it away! So I painted this for them as a gift for Christmas.

188604_533081976715856_991111272_n

Anyway, back to Jodi. I never met Jodi, although we lived in the same small community, went to the same high school, and knew a lot of the same people. By all accounts, Jodi was a very inspiring person. She was full of life and love. She was a true Off-the-couch person! So I made this project a priority, and got a painting done in a few days. My neighbor was able to present the family with a unique, meaningful gift.

Jodi ball RIP
Jodi kept a blog describing her journey. The last post is from her husband. Click on the picture to read it. You might want to grab a tissue.

For days, people came to me with some of the most wonderful things to say. They not only had nice things to say about the painting, but about Jodi. I wish I would have known her. She sounds like a wonderful soul.

In the next couple of days, I’ll finish up a painting from my trip to the Southwest. You’re going to love this one. I put a sneak peak on Facebook if you want to see it in progress!

Leave a Reply

