I’ve lived a little… really…!

Good morning, Chicago!12X12
Good Morning, Chicago! Click the pic for a video!

I went to Chicago recently. I was sitting in the Hard Rock Cafe’ chatting with the bartender. I told her that it was my first trip to Chicago. She smirked and said “Geez, live a little!”

I said “Wait a minute now: I spent four years in Italy. I’ve been to Rome, London, and Cleveland, Ohio. In fact I just got back from a 4000 mile trip to New Mexico and back. I was in Denver, Santa Fe, Albuquerque, Oklahoma City, Kansas City, and even Springfield, Illinois. I think I’ve been living quite a bit!”

She agreed. Then she smashed her elbow on the cooler. I felt bad for her.

It took me a long time to ever want to visit a city. I live in a quiet little north woods town. So when I had to go to Cleveland a few years ago, it would be the first time I’d been to a big city in my adult life. I was nervous, but anxious for the adventure.

I loved it! It was like a whole new world to me. There was so much to do! So much history! So much Culture!

I thought Cleveland was big. Chicago made Cleveland look small! And of course Chicago is loaded with history and culture.

I can’t wait to go to New York City! That’s a few years from now.

The above painting was from a photo I took from near our hotel. It’s on the corner of East Erie and North Wabash. This painting has sold.

Leave a Reply

